Author Topic: Problems with CIE A level chemistry practicals  (Read 1916 times)

Offline 123

• SF Immigrant
Problems with CIE A level chemistry practicals
« on: October 09, 2009, 07:43:16 am »
I'm doing CIE A level chemistry practical paper 33 privately. I'm not good at doing the questions in chem practical paper. Its mainly the titration, energetics or rate of reaction graphing questions. R there any notes in doing these types of questions??

When school chem lab prepare the chemicals b4 the exams (from the confidentional instructions thingy), the chemicals r not stored as instructed. Because of this chemicals turn useless in the exams!!
I think this is what happend when i took my chem practical paper 31 in m/j '08   

Because in that paper we had to use ammonium iron sulphate & hydrogen peroxide(H2O2) for a titration. I couldn't actually get any end-point with that particular titration. And I'm damn sure that was because H2O2 was fully decomposed into water!!!

Given that our school's chem lab storage/ knowledge is mediocre, I am sure they couldn't store H2O2 with care.
Not to mention scorching climate of west India in May and June (HOT SUMMER) which would have catalyzed H2O2 into H2O !!! What are we to do, store the H2O2 like icecream??   

I'm assuming because of this, most of the students failed paper 31 in M/J 2008 (including me)!! 

Guys , I hope you understand this problem. Is there any way to make CIE examiners aware of this?? I'm sure the titration with hydrogen peroxide went well in places like UK or New Zealand that time. Is it our fault that CIE did not consider this??????

I really hope this O/N '09, the chem practical paper will not need H2O2!!

Offline 123

• SF Immigrant
Re: Problems with CIE A level chemistry practicals
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2009, 01:29:52 pm »
Any replies please???  ???

nid404

« Reply #2 on: October 12, 2009, 02:10:39 pm »